Good Times in the City….

Good Times in the City…

By Kenneth Green

So this week has been one that has been very interesting. I have been wrestling with the Lord on several doctrinal issues.And also been wrestling with loneliness. It seems that my choices to live for Christ and be resolute to avoid temptations that could cause me peril is a lonely choice. It’s been a very hard week. Been working out super hard and i am starting to feel stronger. But i seem to still not lose weight. I think i need to talk to my doctor about being on this steroid.

Watching some romantic movies right now has me wishing for a love interest. Though i think i have one now. So i’m excited for what i’m hoping may be future love. Its no where near there yet. I’m hoping for good things. So some things that i am working on.

  1. I think the Lord wants me to write a book or a series of short stories about my life. I believe they will give testimony to his saving love and grace. But i am not sure about this.
  2. I feel called to help people eat better. I’m not a dietician or someone with mad experience. But i am someone who is feeling a world better than i ever have on a healthy diet and exercise.
  3. I feel called to lead people in Tupperware and i’m running for my goal of becoming a manager!

Depression has been a major battle this week. I’m saddened i cannot live my life like i used to. Eat how i used to, or serve God in mediocrity like i used to.  I feel like i am called to serve Christ almost full time. And me working in Tupperware and other things will help me get to that goal i know. I also feel called to be a motivational speaker. So i think i may join Toastmasters so i can sharpen my skillage in that regard.

So food, let’s talk food. I am playing around with spices still and here are two recipes that i am working with right now. I hope they turn out well and i will give you a report on that!

Low Sodium Potato Salad

Obtained From: http://thedailydish.us/salads-and-dressings/classic-potato-salad-low-sodium-style/

INGREDIENTS:

3 medium white, red or Yukon gold potatoes, scrubbed and unpeeled
1 T. olive oil
1 T. apple cider vinegar
1 garlic clove, minced
1/8 t. ground white pepper
2 large eggs, hard-boiled, peeled and diced
1/2 c. diced red onion
1/2 c. diced celery (about 1 stalk)
2 scallions, sliced thinly (green and white portions)
1/2 c. sour cream

DIRECTIONS:

Place the potatoes in a pot, add enough water to cover and place over high heat. Bring to a boil. Boil for 20-25 minutes, until potatoes are cooked through but NOT soft. Remove potatoes from pot and set aside to cool. Once cool enough to handle, gently peel, then cut into 1-inch cubes. Place potatoes in a large mixing bowl.

Measure the olive oil and vinegar into a food processor or blender. Add the minced garlic and pulse to puree. Once smooth, pour over the potatoes (use a spatula to get every last drop). Sprinkle the white pepper over the potatoes. Add the chopped eggs, onion, celery and scallion to the bowl, along with the sour cream. Mix together very gently. Serve immediately, or cover and refrigerate until serving.

Low Sodium BBQ Sauce Recipe

Obtained from: http://www.food.com/recipe/low-sodium-barbecue-sauce-125875

Ingredients

Directions

  1. Mix together all ingredients in large saucepan over medium heat.
  2. Once the mixture is hot, reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  3. Refrigerate any sauce not being immediately used.
Leave a Reply

