The Fight…

The Fight

By Kenneth Green

Isint that a beautiful picture above? It reminds me of like a Central Park, New York City type of scene. I love where i live. I really live in one of the most affluent places in the whole city of Denver. Yet the injustice of income disparity makes me so sad. That on one block you got the ballers of the city hence why i titled that picture “ballers” and two blocks away you got shootings at Lincoln Park and gang violence. its a shame. But i will focus on the good things. So my life is going through some things right now.

I am struggling with something inside. A battle of self worth. Lately in my depression battle most of my depression has been caused by thoughts within. Not events without like it used to be. I really sometimes think that all i’m worthy is to be alone. That i am not deserving of friendships or meaningful relationships. And i fight this demon daily. Because it pops in my head that i am never good enough.

My business has struggled the past few weeks. I think that i’ve been affected by the lack of enthusiasm of others. I think that i’ve let people pull me down into the dumps. When people dont want to grind or dont want to succeed. I get sad because i brought them in. Or i feel embarrassed that some of my people did not pan out. I’m kicking myself out of that mode though. I will never have nothing if its dependent solely upon others.

My fitness battle is ongoing. It seems my body want to jump up in pounds. I hate that. And while its not edema or fluid on the heart. It is discouraging because i follow the diet that the hospital gave me to a tee. And while i think thats keeping me from retaining fluid, it says nothing about calories or fat. So this week i am back to the drawing board and i am looking at calories now. I’ve been logging my food with an app called Lose It, but i think i’m switching to MyFitnessPal. I’m now going to try to make that leap from just a low sodium diet to a low sodium, low carb, low calorie diet. YIKES! I hope that i can still maintain some flavor.

So as people on Social Media know i used to be addicted to Starbucks Blueberry Muffins because they were only 260mg of Sodium. Now i could place that in my meals here and there as a desert and not have to sweat. Well now that i’m on this low sodium kick its time to change and so i present a recipe i found at http://livingwithhicks.com/low-sodium-blueberry-muffins-with-crumb-topping-9mg-each/ which is only 9 mg of Sodium each. Talk about i can eat these all day!! 😛

Low Sodium Blueberry Muffins with Crumb Topping

  • 1.5 cups all purpose flour (0 mg)
  • 3/4 cup white sugar (0 mg)
  • 2 teaspoons no sodium baking powder (0 mg)
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil (0 mg)
  • 1 cup blueberries (0 mg)
  • 1 egg (67 mg)
  • 1/3 cup milk (43 mg)

For the topping:

  • 1/2 cup sugar (0 mg)
  • 1/3 cup flour (0 mg)
  • 1/4 no salt butter (o mg)
  • 1.5 teaspoons cinnamon (o mg)

1) Preheat oven to 400 degrees and prep the muffin tin for baking.
2) Mix flour, sugar, and baking powder. Mix in the egg and milk. Fold in the blueberries.
Note: if using frozen blueberries, strain them under hot water first until they are at least partially defrosted.
3) Place the mixture into the muffin tin; it should make a dozen or so depending on size.
4) Mix together the topping ingredients with a fork and sprinkle over muffins prior to popping them into the oven.
5) Pop them into the oven and leave them baking for about 20 minutes.
6) Remove them from the oven when a knife/toothpick can be inserted into the middle of a muffin and come out without dough on it. Let them cool so you don’t burn your mouth; although it will be tempting since they smell so delicious and you no doubt, are waiting for them to finish before eating your breakfast!

Leave a Reply

