Bootstrapper

Bootstrapper

By Kenneth Green

“May the favor of the Lord our God rest upon us; establish the work of our hands for us– yes, establish the work of our hands.” – Psalm 90:17

Well its an awesome Sabbath day again. And as i sit at home i think about alot that has happened over the week. My diet is more strict now, but the weight seems to just want to bounce around that pound or two mark. And its really annoying. One day your down two pounds and your like YES!!! And the next day your up a pound and a half and your like NOOOOOOO!!!

I am still committed to doing what i need to do to be healthy. Eat healthy and be healthy both spiritually and physically. The latter some would say is the hardest but i think our spirit is way harder to exercise. Its just the irritation is starting to be way too much for me. And whats so funny is i have a pork roast in the crockpot next to me. LOL. So i see one gal who i NEVER thought would find a boyfriend not only did that and is getting married.

Me and the Lord have these little convos each morning. Not that the Lord talks to me audibly, but i get impressions in my spirit and answers via his word. And in these convos i think i talk about loneliness the most. And why i want a celestial companion so bad,

“For there are some eunuchs, which were so born from their mother’s womb: and there are some eunuchs, which were made eunuchs of men: and there be eunuchs, which have made themselves eunuchs for the kingdom of heaven’s sake. He that is able to receive it, let him receive it.” Matthew 19:12

Sometimes i feel like i am one of those guys in the latter end of the verse. People who made themselves Eunichs for the Kingdom of Heaven. I feel that way because God has blessed me with an abundance of time, and has blessed me with some incredible talents that are being used in the Kingdom. But there are also other reasons why i would not be able to find a wife anytime soon. Even though i look, not many girls are interested in me.

Should i be a Eunich for the Kingdom of Heaven’s sake? In this new book i’m reading called 40 Days to Lasting Change by Kyle Idleman in the first chapter or the first day i had my first AHA moment.

40days

Reading it, i now understand that i was created to do God’s work on the earth. I was created to please him. The Bible was not a book written about me, or about God being my genie to make him do what i want or etc but it was a book written about who God is. So maybe me not having a wife is a good thing. I am able to serve a part time mission from home. I’m able to serve as a ward missionary and do some pretty extensive work, i’m able to build my business. All of those things would be hard to do if i had a wifey on my arm. Though i will keep it 100, i want to be married so bad i cant hardly stand it.

So now to the nitty gritty of the subject line. As i walked home from Church today my mind was in worship of the father. And i sang some as i walked. But a part of my mind wandered and thought of a quote from one of my favorite movies Jumping the Broom. And one of the gals in the movie, the BEAUTIFUL Meagan Good talked about one of the guys in the movies who was a well off guy but she called him a “bootstrapper.”

Now i am of a belief that when i’m worshiping the Lord and things pop in my mind its for a reason. I began to think about my life. And where i am in life. I am so scatterbrained its not even funny. And that’s why i dont think i’ve ever experienced the level of success in life i’ve wanted. The Lord also brought to recollection that i need to work for the things i want in life. And lastly i need to double triple check make sure they are in the Lord’s will for my life.

I realize that my Father in heaven loves me. And he isint some mean old guy up there withholding blessings such as a wife or financial success, etc like a Grinch. What i;m learning about my God today is that he knows more than i know. He dosent look at my life in minutes, he looks at my life in years, decades, eternity. He has a purpose for my life. Which may be why i have so many physical afflictions so that i may be like Paul.

“And lest I should be exalted above measure through the abundance of the revelations, there was given to me a thorn in the flesh, the messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I should be exalted above measure.

For this thing I besought the Lord thrice, that it might depart from me.

And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.” 2 Corinthians 12:7-9

I believe that i am called to do what i do daily for God. Serving others doing small things when i can. Witnessing to others. Being an example to others. Doing my church service. Being a witness to other believers. Doing work for my departed loved ones. I believe that’s why i have so many physical afflictions. They are always enough that i cant work enough to sustain me. But not enough that i cant work for him.

But back on topic, i believe that he wants me to focus on an area and work it. And not be so scatterbrained. I believe that like the verse above from Psalms that he will bless the work of my hands. Which is why i’m rocking with Tupperware. I can cook, i can host parties, and i can do something i love. As a hobby i’m still working on my cook book. And i hope to be able to go and compete on Masterchef as the Tupperware man some day. But for now i’m going to hunker down and focus on one area and pray for God to do the increase. So i never leave you without a recipe and today is no different. Here is one of my own.

LOW SODIUM CROCKPOT ROAST

wpid-img_20150920_135050.jpg

Ingredients

  1. 1 – 2 Lbs Pork Roast
  2. 4 – Carrots
  3. 1/2 Tbsp of Thyme
  4. 1/2 Tbsp of Rosemary
  5. 1/2 tsp of Cumin
  6. 1/2 tsp of chili powder
  7. 1/2 tsp of Cayenne Pepper
  8. 1/2 Tbsp of Onion Powder
  9. 1/2 Tbsp of Garlic Powder
  10. 3 Stalks of Celery
  11. 4 Potatoes (your pick of variety)

Instructions

Combine all seasonings into a bowl with a Whisk.

Dice vegetables and place them in the bottom of the crock pot.

Coat the Pork Roast with the Seasonings and place on top of the vegetables.

Place 2 Cups of Water around Pork Roast

Turn on Low Setting and leave it for 8 Hours and you will have a beautiful succulent roast when your done. Make Gravy with the juices!!

Leave a Reply

